This time next week I’ll be almost back in Brighton again. That’s exciting.

Oh summer. Where the hell did you go? You were all enthusiastic a couple of months ago, and it really looked like you were here to stay. Did we piss you off? Cause really.. The way you disappeared like that, it’s just rude.

Tonight I’m going out (knowingly) for the first time in a while. I keep having spur of the moment nights that end up pretty good, but for some reason planned nights never turn out as fantastic as you all think they will. Why is that? Well, it’s one of the reasons I’ve not gone out much over the last two months. That, and a severe lack of money..

So, what *have* I done this summer? Huh, that’s a good question. My parents could easily answer that one, ‘nothing’. But nah, I’ve done a fair amount, sort of. I worked for one thing, which was, y’know, nice.

Also I traveled all that way up north to Edinburgh. And fell in love. That city is beautiful.

Me and the sibling recorded a song. That was awesome. Also majorly over due..

Oh, and I’ve baked. A lot.

This is just one morning's worth..

So much so that I’m considering changing my name to Martha and stepping down that route to housewife extraordinaire. If you know me, then you’ll know that traditional female role just isn’t my kinda thing, and yet I still find myself wasting time by cooking and baking and ending up up-to-my-elbows in bowls of pastry or the like. Oh heck..

Also, I’ve had beyond dozens of ideas for songs, scripts, books.. But have I acted on any of them? Have I fuck.

It’s strange how not doing something for quite a while completely knocks your confidence when you try to start up again. Last time I wrote a song was well over a year ago, and each time I try to start i get no further than a couple of lines. The fact that I can’t really play an instrument probably doesn’t help this. I used to have the brother to rely on when I needed a simple chord progression, but now, now I’m stuck just writing pointless lyrics with no substance.

I just have all these ideas that I can’t seem to physicalise. Kinda like a severe case of writer’s block I guess. And it sucks. It really. Really. Sucks.

So yeah, I’m looking forward to being back in Brighton. I’ll have a new house, and then the trek to London Fashion Week, and that awesome B-town vibe. Hopefully there’ll be some inspiration brewing under all that.

Fingers crossed.

One thought on “This time next week I’ll be almost back in Brighton again. That’s exciting.

Leave a Reply

