Let’s play catch-up..

Another week gone by, another bloggable few days in the life of yours truly. Okay fine, so it may have been more than a week. And yes, not every day during that time was full of blog worthy material. But spending a fair amount of time with fussy stage mothers, drama queens (of all varieties), potential boybands, ‘long-time-no-see’ friends, and so on and so forth.. And well, actually you find yourself thinking that on occasion your life would be so much better suited to a soap tv show, or the like..

So this past week, I have in fact been painting faces. All over again.. And I bloody loved it. Oxford Youth Music Theatre (aka. OYMT), with whom I performed in Fiddler on the Roof last April, put on an absolutely incredible production of Beauty and the Beast last week. I mean seriously, if it wasn’t for the slight technical glitches, and the fact that I personally know the majority of the cast, I could’ve been watching a professional production. Don’t think I’ve ever experienced emotions like that from a musical – tears, goosebumps, hysterical laughter.. The works! Plus it was all made a whole lot better by the fact that I was involved in the make-up scene backstage. You remember my West Side Story oompa-loompa skin colour tantrums?! Well, B and the B was a whole other kettle of fish. You’ve got grizzly, growly beasts; real-life inanimate objects; not to mention that Disney ‘glow’.. It was awesome. The worst part was the stage mothers! Only because they ‘fuss’. And sometimes, when you’re backstage on a show, you need less fuss and more productive action. I swear so many things could take half the time if people didn’t fuss! Arggh!! Ooh and don’t get me started on the fickleness of thespians. Gosh no, darling.. *rolls eyes exaggeratedly*

Anyway, despite the mothers, the show was definitely a success. Although any show that has professional West End hired costumes, and features the brother howling like a wolf in a pair of my leggings definitely gets two hugely enthusiastic thumbs up from my corner!

Prior to my hands becoming paint palettes, all over again, I spent a day in London with the father, as he returned to his music photography days, and I got lumbered with the ‘Bag Lady’ title. Gee, thanks.. Nah it was a pretty awesome day. The band, Inju5tice, comprised of five very sweet guys, who despite being unsigned seemed really enthusiastic about the whole music scene. Especially about bringing traditional boyband ‘pop’ back. (No complaints from me there..)

The friendlings dragged me  out last night, in my sorry-excuse-for-a-female attire – is it possible to forget how to dress for a night out due to lack of situation?! Anyway, yes, I currently own a hermit like social status (mainly as a result of my make-up coated hands, etc..) and so have not seen anyone in the entire time I’ve been home. Those whole two and a half weeks have just flown by! Aha.. But last night was an adventure, to say the least. Experienced parts of Oxford I can honestly say I’ve never even realised existed before. How is that possible y’know? When you live somewhere for a pretty decent percentage of your life, like oh, nearly all of it, but you still manage to find places you’ve never been before? Strange. It’s very strange..

But still.. That’s been my life. Well for the past two weeks anyway. Cause I’m a cool kid like that. The rest? Well, that’s history right? Plus I’ve heard that girls are meant to have secrets.. Apparently mystery is enticing?! Meh. So I’m gonna go, and be mysterious. Or something..

One thought on “Let’s play catch-up..

Leave a Reply

